The Bottom of the Pit

image

I said that 2013 was the worst year of my life. In January I  had my hand broken, in February my eye socket was fractured, March saw me in the hospital with a bout of meningitis. April saw a car accident and the following month I lost my job. By June, I was emotionally drained and checked myself into a mental institution. While I was there, I asked for an Aids test.

I will never forget the day that my results came in. I was supposed to meet with the psychiatrist that morning but I was still sleepy from the meds that they had given me the night before. This woman, that was my doctor at the time, was actually a student. The first time that she came around on her rounds, she told me that she would just see me last. She returned shortly thereafter and demanded that I wake up.

She told me that my test results had come back and that they were positive. I  was in such a state of shock. I just kept saying no, no, no! I didn’t want to hear those words.

Until next time… Mind your health… 

Leave a Reply

